1. Financial corporations

The financial corporations sector (S.12) consists of institutional units that are independent legal entities and market producers, and whose principal activity is the production of financial services. Such institutional units comprise all corporations and quasi-corporations that are principally engaged in:

  • financial intermediation (financial intermediaries) and/or
  • auxiliary financial activities (financial auxiliaries)

Also included are institutional units providing financial services, where most of either their assets or their liabilities are not transacted on open markets.

Financial intermediation is the activity in which an institutional unit acquires financial assets and incurs liabilities on its own account by engaging in financial transactions on the market. The assets and liabilities of financial intermediaries are transformed or repackaged in relation to – for example – maturity, scale, risk in the financial intermediation process.

Auxiliary financial activities are activities related to financial intermediation but which do not involve financial intermediation themselves.

Financial corporations are presented in the following groupings:

  • monetary financial institutions (MFIs)
  • financial corporations except MFI and ICPF
  • insurance corporations and pension funds (ICPFs)

Further information on sector classifications and classification decisions can be found in Economic statistics classifications.

Back to table of contents
View all data in this compendium

Contact details for this Compendium

Karen L Grovell
Telephone: +44 (0)1633 456103