The main types of administrative area recognised by Census output are: local government; health areas; Parliamentary constituencies; urban areas; parishes (Communities in Wales); and postcode sectors. Boundaries may be inconsistent with one another and subject to change, which gives a complex map of overlapping geographies. A summary diagram showing the relationships between area types is available to download in PDF format.

Related downloads