Skip to content

Atlas of Deprivation 2010

Released: 20 October 2011 Download PDF

The Indices of Multiple Deprivation (IMD) are used extensively to analyse patterns of deprivation and inform the identification of areas by local and central government that would benefit from special initiatives or programmes and as a tool to determine eligibility for specific funding. The latest IMD 2010, produced by the Department for Communities and Local Government updates earlier versions of the Indices with more recent data. Where possible the indicators used in this release relate to 2008, for many indicators more recent data were not available at the time of index construction.

An Atlas of Deprivation 2010 for England has been produced to aid interpretation of the Indices of Deprivation.

Please note that the Atlas is in the open Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) format. This requires either an SVG-enabled web browser such as Firefox, Apple Safari (desktop edition is required) or Opera. Most Internet Explorer users will need to download and install the Adobe SVG viewer software which is available free of charge.

The Atlas of Deprivation 2010 allows the quick identification of individual ranks for each Lower Layer Super Output Area (LSOA) nationally by local authority for seven domains and for an overall Index of Deprivation. The  LSOA ranks go from 1 for the most deprived LSOA to 32,482 for the least deprived of the 32,482 LSOAs in England.

The seven domains are:

  • Income

  • Employment

  • Health Deprivation and Disability

  • Education, Skills and Training

  • Barriers to Housing and Services

  • Crime

  • Living Environment

There is also supporting information about the IMD 2010.

Individual deprivation scores and ranks by LSOA  are published on Neighbourhood Statistics, under the Indices of Deprivation and Classification Topic.

Source: Office for National Statistics

Background notes

  1. You may use or re-use this information (not including logos) free of charge in any format or medium, under the terms of the Open Government Licence, or write to the Information Policy Team, The National Archives, Kew, London TW9 4DU, or email:
  2. Details of the policy governing the release of new data are available by visiting or from the Media Relations Office email:

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.