Skip to content

Urban Audit III

Urban Audit III (UAIII) started in 2006 and was completed in 2008. The results are available on the Eurostat website.

The third Urban Audit was comprised of two separate data collections:

  • Exhaustive audit, with the main reference year of 2004, covering over 340 variables for 30 cities within the UK.

  • Larger City Audit collected a subset of 54 variables for the reference year 2004 for a further 76 cities within the UK.

The variables cover a wide range of subject areas - Demography, Health, Crime, Civic Involvement, Training and Education, Economic, the Environment, Travel and Transport Information Society and Culture and Recreation.

Urban Audit III covered 321 cities across the EU-27 (plus 36 in, Croatia, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey), 106 of which were in the UK. There were five spatial levels:

  • Cities – the core urban area (local authority).

  • Kernel – this level was created for some capital cities, in the UK, London, where the concept of the Administrative City does not yield comparable spatial units.

  • Larger Urban Zones – the functional urban zone around the core city (groups of local authorities).

  • Larger Cities – predominantly urban in character with a population over 60,000.

  • Sub City Districts – sub-division of the core city (Middle Super Output Areas for England and Wales, Intermediate Zones in Scotland and Super Output Areas in Northern Ireland).

A perception survey was also conducted in 2004 to measure the local perceptions of quality of life in 31 European cities. It was created to compliment the data obtained in the main Urban Audit exercise.

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.