Skip to content

European Electoral Regions

European electoral regions (EERs) are used to elect MEPs (Members of the European Parliament) to the European Parliament in Strasbourg.

Prior to 1999 the UK operated a first-past-the-post system based on groupings of Westminster constituencies (excepting Northern Ireland, which already had a proportional system).

In the 1999 election a proportional representation system of multi-member electoral regions was introduced to the rest of the UK, and was used again in 2004 and 2009.

The number of MEPs in each region varies with population size resulting in the following national distribution:

Country Number of European Electoral Regions Number of MEPs (2009 election)
England 9 59
Scotland 1 6
Wales 1 4
Northern Ireland 1 3
United Kingdom Total 12 72

Note: England's electoral regions are based on the boundaries of the Government Office Regions (GORs) at the start of the year of an election. The Euro-election in June 2009 therefore reflected the GOR boundaries as at 1 January 2009.

The next Euro-election is due in June 2014.

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.