Skip to content


Related Links

Wales is subject to the administration of both the UK Government in Westminster and also the National Assembly for Wales in Cardiff.

The UK Government retains responsibility for non-devolved topics, but the National Assembly has powers to make legislation in devolved topics such as health, education, agriculture, local government, environment, and culture.

Wales is subdivided into 22 unitary authorities, which in turn are divided into electoral wards and communities.

Geographical hierarchy of Wales

Unitary Authority

Information on the upper level of Administrative geography in Wales

Electoral Wards

Electoral Wards are a key building block of Welsh administrative geography


Communities are the smallest administrative areas in Wales

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.