Skip to content


Related Links

Scotland is subject to the administration of both the UK Government in Westminster and also the Scottish Government in Edinburgh.

The UK Government has responsibility for issues such as constitutional matters, foreign policy and defence, whereas the remit of the Scottish Government includes matters such as health, education and law.

Scotland is subdivided into 32 council areas, which in turn are divided into electoral wards and communities.

Geographical hierarchy of Scotland

Council Areas

Information on the upper level of Administrative geography in Scotland

Electoral Wards

Electoral wards are a key building block of Scottish administrative geography


Communities are the smallest administrative areas in Scotland

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.