Skip to content

Northern Ireland

Related Links

Northern Ireland is subject to the administration of both the UK Government in Westminster and also the Northern Ireland Executive in Belfast.

The UK Government retains responsibility for a number of issues such as international relations, policing and justice.

The Northern Ireland Executive however has powers in a number of areas such as health, education, industry, agriculture, environment, and culture.

Northern Ireland is subdivided into 26 district council areas (although within Northern Ireland they are also known as 'local government districts' (LGDs)).

These in turn are divided into electoral wards.

Geographical hierarchy of Northern Ireland

District Council Areas

Information on the upper level of Administrative geography in Northern Ireland

Electoral Wards

Electoral Wards are a key building block of Northern Irish administrative geography

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.