Skip to content


Related Links

England does not have its own devolved parliament and is thus entirely subject to the administration of the UK Government in Westminster.

The subdivisions of England are depicted in the diagram below.

Note however that the diagram shows the geographic structure rather than the administrative reporting structure.

In practice, neither metropolitan counties nor Regions (Former GORs) are truly part of the administrative hierarchy, and electoral wards/divisions are simply the 'building blocks' from which higher units are constituted.

Parishes on the other hand can have their own council, but have been isolated from the geographic structure as, unlike electoral wards/divisions, they are not found across the whole of England.

Geographical hierarchy of England



Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.