Skip to content

Glossary N

              A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

National Assembly Economic Region

The four National Assembly Economic Regions in Wales (North Wales, Mid Wales, South West Wales and South East Wales) are made up of groups of whole UAs with the exception is Gwynedd UA which is split on pre-1996 reorganisation boundaries.

National Assembly for Wales Constituencies (NAWCs)

National Assembly for Wales Constituencies (NAWCs) are used to elect members to the National Assembly for Wales (NAW). The 40 NAWCs were reorganised on May 2007 and were no longer identical to the Westminster Parliamentary Constituencies in Wales, they realigned with them at the 2010 general election.
Further Information on NAWC'S

National Assembly for Wales Electoral Regions (NAWERs)

National Assembly for Wales Electoral Regions (NAWERs) are used for the proportional component of the elections to the National Assembly for Wales (NAW). The five NAWERs are made up of groups of NAW Constituencies. The NAWERs were reorganised in May 2007.
Further Information on NAWERs'

National Assembly Regional Committee Area (NARCA)

Following the Government of Wales Act 2006 National Assembly Regional Committee Areas were abolished. Prior to this the National Assembly for Wales (NAW) had five regional committees to advise on regional affairs. NARCAs used to share the same boundaries as the four National Assembly Economic Regions but in April 2005 the NAW decided that the boundaries would share the same boundaries as the five NAW Electoral Regions, which themselves are made up of groups of NAW Constituencies.

National Land Property Gazetteer (NLPG)

The National Land and Property Gazetteer (NLPG) is a national land and property database and is planned to become the single, authoritative source of address data for Great Britain. The NLPG is an aggregation of the Local Land and Property Gazetteers (LLPGs) produced by local authorities.
Further information on NLPG.

National Parks

National parks are designed to conserve the natural beauty and cultural heritage of areas of outstanding landscape value, and to promote public understanding and enjoyment of these areas. National parks exist in England, Scotland and Wales. Their boundaries are not constrained by any other geography.
Further information on National Parks

National Records of Scotland (NRS)

From the 1 April 2011, The General Register Office for Scotland (GROS), officially became the National Records of Scotland (NRS) when it merged with the National Archives of Scotland. The organisation is still responsible for the registration of births, marriages, deaths, divorces and adoptions in Scotland, as well as the Scottish Censuses.
Further Information about NRS

National Statistics Postcode Directory (NSPD)

ONS Geography's National Statistics Postcode Directory (NSPD) was replaced by the ONS Postcode Directory (ONSPD) in February 2011, which in turn had replaced the All Fields Postcode Directory (AFPD) in March 2006. The NSPD listed all postcodes in the United Kingdom and had assigned them to a range of administrative, health, electoral and other geographies. It had been a key product for anyone that needed to relate postcodes to statutory areas.
Further Information on the Postcode Products

National Statistics Postcode Look-up (NSPL)

The National Statistics Postcode Look-up (NSPL) is a new product that was first released in February 2011. The NSPL relates both current and terminated postcodes to a range of current statutory administrative, electoral, health and other geographies in the United Kingdom. The relationship between the postcodes and geographies is created via a best-fit allocation from Census Output Areas. Like the ONSPD, the NSPL is issued quarterly.
Further Information on the NSPL

Neighbourhood Statistics (NeSS) 

Neighbourhood Statistics (NeSS) is ONS's online service providing socio-economic statistics (including 2001 Census data) for small areas. The primary rationale for NeSS is to provide detailed data to support the National Strategy for Neighbourhood Renewal, which will involve all levels of authority working together to tackle problems such as deprivation, crime and community breakdown. In practice however NeSS provides a valuable resource for the whole community.
Further information on NeSS


NHS is the acronym for the UK's National Health Service, and is often used in preference to the full name. The NHS is a public sector organisation providing a wide range of health services and infrastructure across the whole country.
Further information about the NHS

NHS Organisation Manual

ONS Geography's NHS Organisation Manual relates UK health authorities/boards to their respective local authorities.
This product has now been superseded by the Ward: Health Matrix.

NHS Postcode Directory (NHSPD)

ONS Geography's NHS Postcode Directory (NHSPD) is produced for the NHS and is a specially tailored extract of the ONS Postcode Directory (ONSPD).

NHS Regional Office

See Regional Office (NHS).

Nomenclature of Units for Territorial Statistics (NUTS)

The Nomenclature of Units for Territorial Statistics (NUTS) is a hierarchical classification of spatial units that provides a breakdown of the European Union's territory for the purposes of producing comparable regional statistics. There were originally 5 different NUTS levels but as from 11 July 2003, NUTS levels 4 and 5 became Local Administrative Units (LAUs). The remaining NUTS levels 1-3 will be fixed for a few years but the LAUs will not. NUTS and LAUs are generally based on different levels of administrative geography, meaning that in the UK the levels vary from Government Office Regions (with Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland counting as equivalents) down to electoral wards/divisions.
More information on NUTS and LAUs

Non-metropolitan (Shire) County

The 27 non-metropolitan (shire) counties form the upper tier of the two-tier local government structure found in many parts of England. The lower tier of the structure is the non-metropolitan districts.
Further Information about Non-metropolitan counties

Non-metropolitan (Local Authority) District

The 201 non-metropolitan districts (also known as local authority districts) form the lower tier of the two-tier local government structure found in many parts of England. They are subdivisions of the 27 non-metropolitan (shire) counties.
Further Information about Non-metropolitan districts

Northern Ireland Assembly Constituencies

The 18 Northern Ireland Assembly constituencies are used to elect members to the Northern Ireland Assembly. The constituencies are identical to the 18 Westminster parliamentary constituencies in Northern Ireland.
Further information on the Northern Ireland Assembly.




Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.