Skip to content

Glossary F

              A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Fire Service Area

In England there is one fire and Rescue service in each of the former metropolitan counties and Greater London, and also one in each of the non-metropolitan counties existing before the Local Government Reorganisations of the mid-1990s and 2009. In Wales there are 3 fire services (North; Mid and West; South), each covering a number of unitary authorities.
In Scotland there are 8 fire services, each based on one or more council areas (and reflecting the local government regions existing before 1996).
There is one fire service for Northern Ireland.
For Further Information on the UK Fire and Rescue Service

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.