Skip to content

Glossary C

              A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Care Trust

Care Trusts (CTs) are a form of statutory health body in England and were established to provide integrated services. For the purposes of this glossary we are only interested in those CTs which are based on the Primary Care Trust (PCT) model and which, like the PCTs, report to the Strategic Health Authorities (SHAs). As at April 2011 there were five such CTs, with the rest of the country being covered by PCTs. However, whereas PCTs have a health remit only, CTs also deliver the health services usually provided by local authorities.
Further health geography information, including maps and lists of area names and codes.

Census Area Statistics (CAS) Ward

Census Area Statistics (CAS) wards are used for 2001 Census outputs. Unlike actual electoral wards/divisions they are required to meet certain minimum size thresholds in order to prevent disclosure of Census data.
Further information on CAS wards.

Census Enumeration District (ED)

Census Enumeration Districts (EDs) are used across the UK for the purposes of census data collection. They were formerly also the base unit of census output, but Census Output Areas (OAs) were introduced for this purpose in 1991 (Scotland) and 2001 (rest of the UK).
Further information on the UK Census and census geography.

Choropleth Map

Choropleth maps compare the characteristics of different areas by means of shading; areas with similar characteristics are shaded the same colour.

City of London

The City of London is a local authority in central London but is unique in that it is administered by the Corporation of London rather than a standard local authority council. It is however considered as a London borough for many statistical purposes.
Further information on Greater London and the London boroughs, including a map and a list of borough names and codes.

Civil Parish

See parish.

Code History Database

The Code History Database (CHD) provides details of the new 9 character codes that were introduced as part of the GSS Coding and Naming Policy on the 1 January 2011. This includes Look-ups between the new nine character codes and the old style codes, as well as individual name and code listings, their hierarchical relationships and archived geographies. For further information, see the Code History Database.


Community is a very general term referring to the people living in a locality or to the locality itself. In Wales and Scotland however, specific communities have been defined:
1. Welsh communities are subdivisions of unitary authorities and their councils are the most local level of government in Wales. They are the equivalent of (civil) parishes in England, but unlike English parishes, communities cover the whole of Wales.
2. Scottish communities are subdivisions of council areas but community councils have a limited role and are not generally regarded as a tier of local government. Communities cover the whole of Scotland.
Further information on parishes and communities, including names and codes lists (Note: we do not supply names and codes of Scottish communities).

Community Health Partnerships

Community Health Partnerships (CHPs) were introduced in 2006 as a second tier of health administration in Scotland. CHPs play a key role in improving health and reducing inequalities, working with local communities and other statutory and voluntary sector providers. They report to the Scottish Health Boards.
More information on Community Health Partnerships in Scotland.

Community Safety Partnerships

The Safe and Confident Neighbourhoods Strategy (March 2010) saw the renaming of Crime and Disorder Reduction Partnerships to Community Safety Partnerships (CSP), as indeed they'd always been known in Wales. CSPs bring agencies and communities together to tackle crime within our communities. Traditionally each local authority area had its own CSP, however due to economies of scale there have been several mergers in recent years.
More information on Community Safety Partnerships.


Constituencies are used to elect members to legislatures. The different constituencies in the UK include:

  • London Assembly constituencies

  • Northern Ireland Assembly constituencies

  • Scottish parliamentary constituencies

  •  Welsh Assembly constituencies

For further information, see the Devolved Parliaments information.
Westminster parliamentary constituencies (that is, constituencies for the UK Parliament at Westminster)'.

Council Area

32 council areas were established across the whole of Scotland in 1996. Their respective councils form the single tier of local government in Scotland.
Further information on Scottish administrative geography, including a map and lists of area names and codes.


In the context of the UK, each of the four main subdivisions (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland) is referred to as a country.


Counties were formerly administrative units across the whole UK. Due to various administrative restructurings however then the only administrative areas still referred to as counties are the non-metropolitan (shire) counties of England. The English metropolitan counties, although no longer administrative units, are also used for statistical purposes.
Non-metropolitan (shire) counties
Metropolitan counties

County Electoral Division

County electoral divisions are the areas used to elect members to county councils in England. They should not be confused with the unitary authority electoral divisions found in Wales, the Isle of Wight and six of the Unitary Authorities created as part of the LGR in 2009.
Further information on county electoral divisions.

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.