Skip to content

Greater London and the London Boroughs

Greater London was established in 1965 as an administrative unit covering the London metropolis. It was not defined as a county but had a two-tier structure, with the lower tier being the London boroughs.

Following the abolition of the Greater London Council (GLC) in 1986 the boroughs became single-tier authorities, but Greater London was still widely recognised, especially for statistical and mapping purposes. In 2000 however a two-tier structure was re-established when the new Greater London Authority adopted responsibility for a range of citywide policy areas.

There are 32 actual boroughs, with a status similar to metropolitan districts, and also the City of London, which is a City Corporation and has a number of additional roles. Boroughs are subdivided into electoral wards. 

London borough names and codes are listed below. The listing shows the new 9 character ONS codes, that became operative on the 1st January 2011. For more information on the ONS 9 character coding, please refer to the Code History Database (CHD)

E09000001 City of London 
E09000002 Barking and Dagenham
E09000003 Barnet
E09000004 Bexley
E09000005 Brent
E09000006 Bromley
E09000007 Camden
E09000008 Croydon
E09000009 Ealing
E09000010 Enfield
E09000011 Greenwich
E09000012 Hackney
E09000013 Hammersmith and Fulham
E09000014 Haringey
E09000015 Harrow 
E09000016 Havering
E09000017 Hillingdon
E09000018 Hounslow
E09000019 Islington
E09000020 Kensington and Chelsea
E09000021 Kingston upon Thames
E09000022 Lambeth
E09000023 Lewisham
E09000024 Merton
E09000025 Newham
E09000026 Redbridge
E09000027 Richmond upon Thames
E09000028 Southwark
E09000029 Sutton
E09000030 Tower Hamlets
E09000031 Waltham Forest
E09000032 Wandsworth
E09000033 Westminster
Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.