Skip to content

The National Accounts Classification Committee (NACC)

All classification decisions are approved by the ONS National Accounts Classification Committee (NACC), a committee of national accounts experts.

NACC has a membership of around 15 and the Chair of the NACC will be a senior member of staff in the ONS Directorate responsible for the National Accounts, appointed by the Executive Director.

The Chair of NACC appoints ONS staff with relevant expertise as members, including up to five Executive Members who authorises the more straightforward classification decisions.

The Executive Director may also appoint external experts to join NACC, regularly or for a particular case, where their expertise will be helpful in interpreting statistical guidance.

Current members of NACC are:


Graeme Walker - Deputy Director: National Accounts Coordination Division

Executive Members

Peter Patterson - Deputy Director: Office of the Chief Economic Advisor

David Hobbs - Branch Head: Accountancy Advice 

Iain Bell  - Deputy Director: Public Sector and Households Division 

Andrew Walton - Branch Head: National Accounts Coordination

Ordinary Members

Jim O'Donoghue Methodologist - Methodology Advisory Service and Former Branch Head: Public Sector Finances

Sanjiv Mahajan - Branch Head: International Coordination

John Bundey - Deputy Branch Head: BoP investment Income and Coordination

Steve Drew - Branch Head: National Accounts Methods and Development

David Bailey - Branch Head:  Public Sector Finances Development

Phillip Davies - Head of Sector Financial Accounts

Phillip Lee - Eurostat

Jacqui Jones - Deputy Director - Business Indicators and Balance of Payments Division

Katherine Mills - Branch Head: Central Government Delivery

Gareth Clancy - Branch Head: Public Sector Finances Delivery

Pete Lee - Assistant Deputy Director,  Business Indicators and Balance of Payments Division


Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.